Ferraria crispa

A few years ago I was given some bulbs of this lovely little geophyte from the cape region of South Africa. It really is a strange and wonderful flower. It blooms every spring without fail and seems to thrive on neglect for the most part.

Ferraria crispa is a member of the Iridaceae in the same tribe as the Iris. Interestingly it is proportedly fly polinated and several references mentioned a scent mimicing rotting meat, but I can detect no such foul odour from my plants. The Genus was named as a tribute to the Italian Jesuit priest, botanist and botanical artist Giovanni Baptista Ferrari.

Ferraria-crispa After a bit of online research I found that there are some very striking colour variants of F. crispa and a handful of other species in the genus some of which are absolutely stunning!

I sourced some seeds from a seller in South Africa and ordered two, a paler colour variant of F. crispa and Ferraria foliosa. They arrived promptly and I sowed them in a very sandy compost mix, with a little extra lime under a layer of crushed 5mm pumice.

ferraria1

Germination was quite quick, 20 days later they are up and looking strong. From my reading it will be important to build the bulbs to a size where they’ll survive winter dormancy and come back next spring. If they do survive I will not expect flowers until possibly spring 2015.

I shall keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “Ferraria crispa

  1. Have you the sp that is golden yellow with orange touches and a few brown spots? Do they all have the typical chocolate-y scent?

Leave a comment